Thursday, August 24, 2017
Facebook Twitter YouTube Blogger Instagram

Recognitions (189)

This category is for recognitions article content.

DSC 0018Four Cumberland High School students were recognized at the September meeting of the Cumberland School Board for attending the Southside Regional Governor’s School Summer Program. These students included Gillian Cubbage, Kayla Paras, Colby White, and Tyler Shores. The Governor’s School was held from June 21-28, 2013, and focused on Wildlife Biology. Tyler Shores and Colby White give Board members a brief overview of the program at the meeting.

DSC 0022Cumberland High School student Demory Williamson was recognized at the September meeting of the School Board for her participation in the Building Leaders for Advancing Science and Technology (BLAST). BLAST is a partnership between Virginia Space Grant Consortium, the University of Virginia (UVA), and the Commonwealth of Virginia. BLAST offers an exciting, on-campus, summer STEM experience for current 8th and 9th grade students from high schools in Southwest Virginia, Southern Piedmont, Charlottesville, and Greater Richmond areas. BLAST was designed to bring STEM alive through a series of innovative experiences led by UVA faculty and staff, and intended to spark interest in STEM opportunities. Faculty demonstrations showcase some out-of-the-ordinary science and engineering results with the goal to increase student curiosity.

DSC 0024Three Cumberland High School students will be participating in the Region 8 Governor’s Health Sciences Academy. This academy was started by area superintendents as a way to provide students with a chance for expanded options in future health-related careers. This two-year program will have students certified for high demand, high wage, and high skill health science jobs. Students participating in the program include Waylon Rhymer, focusing on Respiratory Therapy; Kajah Smith, specializing in Medical Office Assisting; and Maria Goday, studying Massage Therapy.

DSC 0026Cumberland High School student Colby White was selected to attend the Hough O-Brian Youth Leadership academy this past summer. HOBY is an advanced leadership academy with a long and impressive history of successfully motivating youth and volunteers to outstanding leadership. This summer, the academy was held at James Madison University. Approximately 270 high school students from across the state attended. Participants engaged in a number of activities including building picnic tables that were given to charitable organizations and participating in leadership exercises. Colby was recognized at the September meeting of the Cumberland School Board for his achievement.